Day 18…My stress migraine

Dear Blogsphere,

This week has been a hetic one. Monday started off fine, then Molly fainted and ended up going into hospital, that was scary. It left Dan and I to sort the kit out and on Tuesday we just had each other. Poor Molly, I dont think she got any confirmation on what caused her to faint I am no doctor but what I belive it to be was stress. I came to belive this because I had it happen to myself four years ago.

It was very similar to what Molly has explained however I did not faint. I had just flown back from Paris and was sitting at my desk in my room when suddenly the room split in half , my vision had gone all strange. The best way to describe it is if you imagine a horizontal line splitting what you see now, the top half went one way and the bottom the other. It really scared me. Then my head started to ache, my body tremble and my speech go. I got to my dad asap. My dad rushed me to see the doctor who checked my blood and my sugar level was fine. I got home and tried to sleep, my headache got worse and I could not talk, my words came out slurred and I could not remember anything, The left side of my face and head felt wrong. My body did not feel my own. This worried my mum and she rushed me into hospital. They sent me for scans and I even consented to a lumber puncture (never again, It was horrid plus I am terrified of needles, if i said I have not fainted before I did then.) It was a precaution as my aunty died from meningitis. However everything came back fine, and a few days later I was let out. Over the next few weeks I had more episodes but they finally stopped. All the doctors could say was that it was one of the worst Migraines a person could get, close to a stroke.

I have decided to look it up and this is they type of Migraine that I had.

Symptoms of hemiplegic migraine include:

  • Severe, throbbing pain, often on one side of your head
  • A pins-and-needles feeling, often moving from your hand up your arm
  • Numbness on one side of your body, which can include your arm, leg, and/or one side of your face
  • Weakness or paralysis on one side of your body
  • Loss of balance and coordination
  • Visual aura, such as seeing zigzag lines, double vision, or blind spots
  • Language difficulties, such as mixing words or trouble remembering a word
  • Slurred speech
  • Dizziness or vertigo
  • Nausea and vomiting
  • Extreme sensitivity to light, sound, and smell
  • Confusion
  • Decreased consciousness or coma

From http://www.webmd.com/migraines-headaches/hemiplegic-migraine-headaches-symptoms-causes-treatments

 

Personally I felt like I had wasted their time in the hospital, but I did not know what was happening to me and I still don’t to this day. I do think it effected my memory, I don’t remember things that’s I used to know and I find it hard to remember things. The only thing I can pin it down to was a migraine the strength of a stroke. (which is possible), all spurred on by stress.  I was doing my A levels at the time and I stressed about every subject.

The way I over come stressing so much was writing list, especially at night when so many things are whirling around in my head. I just jot them all down, tell myself that I can now forget them because they are written down and sleep. Stress is a horrid thing, it made me really ill once, but I have learnt to control it. All I can say is do not bottle it up, there are people out their who can help and are ready to listen, For me it was my art teacher and my 6th form head, she is the one I have to thank for the countless lists I make now.

So thank you, and blogsphere don’t stress

Night, x

 

Leave a Reply

